Positive Skills Assessment - Urgent Help

jameserob

Can anyone help me? It’s just been announced that it’s likely all 482 occupations on the short term list will be eligible for pathway to PR if you were in Australia during the pandemic. I’m sponsored as a Recruitment Consultant and I have over 9 years experience in the role, however I have no qualification. The VETAASSES website is saying you need a minimum Bachelor Degree in a relevant field. If you don’t have a relevant Degree, then any Degree will count as long as you have 1 years experience on top of that. This is absolutely crazy. So someone with an unrelated Degree such as Islamic studies, and 1 years work experience in Recruitment is eligible for PR in my occupation, but me who has over 9 years experience is not. Can someone help and advise me if there’s any way around this? 

Australia wants highly skilled and highly educated immigrants.

It has no obligation to offer you a visa just because you want one and you've lived here for a while, you need to be eligible like everyone else.

In some professions (useful ones like plumbing) the qualifications don't explicitly require a degree but your job doesn't really fit into that "key-worker" definition

Go to university would be one option do the course you referred to and then you'll be able to stay...

In some occupations, you can apply to have years of experience recognized as equivalent to a degree.  So for instance, they might recognise 6 years' experience as being equivalent to a degree and then you still have 3 years to claim as experience.   I have no idea whether that applies to your field or not, but worth checking.  

However as I'm sure you've encountered in your work, it's not unusual for people with degrees to be valued above people with real experience in a field.  

Edited by Marisawright
  • Like 1

23 hours ago, Ausvisitor said: