Teacher visa after a break from the profession?

Gemitch16

Hi all,

I am new to the group. Looking at skilled visa options to emigrate to Australia and have the support of an agency. However, I have been working PT as a teacher for several years and am now moving towards a research field at a local university. Can anyone advise the strength of a visa application for a primary teacher who has been working PT or had a career break? My points score is good, I also have a masters in education. Husband is an engineering operations manager in a power station, earns a very good salary but does not have an engineering degree; worked his way up to position with experience and other qualifications relevant to post. 

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. 

6 hours ago, Alltogethernow said:

I presume you are looking at State Sponsorship (Victoria) if applying under Primary Teacher?

How many years' experience have you? 

ATN

And what second language do you teach? Do you have a 4 year degree?  Lots of hoops for teachers to leap through

I have 12 years classroom teaching experience, including being a member of SLT. I also worked for my local consortium as an advisory teacher of P.E. and Physical Literacy for 18mo. Set up a community interest company doing much the same and working for university on education programmes inbetween as well as a bit of supply! 

On 27/08/2019 at 22:48, wrussell said:

and some of them are flaming hoops.

Hi @wrussell

What chances do you think my wife, a secondary school teacher with 75 points has?  

I will be completing a skill assessment to boost the score until November when we should be eligible for the extra 10 points in the partner points section. 

Many thanks

Eddie

@wrussell

Thanks for your reply. 

No, I have not taken any advice on alternative visas as yet, are there any that you would recommend?