Redundant while waiting for ens186 decision

mylowe

I've been working for a meat works for 4 years on a 457, the company decided to nominate my family for the ens 186 which cost us almost $10,000. After 5 months of waiting for pr the company decided to make me redundant and withdraw there nomination giving me 28 days to find or leave Australia. I have been trying flat out to find a new company to nominate me with no luck. All this has put so much stress on us bc we don't want to leave.

Has this happened to anyone else and if so what was your out come.

I've been working for a meat works for 4 years on a 457, the company decided to nominate my family for the ens 186 which cost us almost $10,000. After 5 months of waiting for pr the company decided to make me redundant and withdraw there nomination giving me 28 days to find or leave Australia. I have been trying flat out to find a new company to nominate me with no luck. All this has put so much stress on us bc we don't want to leave.

Has this happened to anyone else and if so what was your out come.

Very sorry to hear that, but yes at least it is 90 days.

As you want to stay permanently, I would be looking into moving away from employer sponsorship now and look into skilled migration so you won't be relying on anyone else. A new employer sponsor is probably not going to go straight for a permanent visa sponsorship anyway. Do you know much about this route? It is the 189 or 190 visas.

I doubt you have any legal recourse, but can you appeal to the company's better nature over refunding visa application fees? After four years you are hopefully getting a reasonable redundancy payout anyway which they could top up as a gesture of goodwill. What type of a company are they? If they are a larger one especially, then I definitely think it is worth the question.