How do you decide where you want to live???

cjenky

Hi, our 190 application is currently in progress so fingers crossed 1) our visa is in fact granted & 2) hopefully we don't have too long to wait. Although I don't want to move too far in front in terms of planning and next steps (just in case we fall at the final hurdle) we are struggling with how people decide on where they want to live.

Ideally we don't want to be in Sydney and are thinking one of the smaller cities would suit us better. That being said one of my best friends lives in Sydney and has done for the past 10 years so in that regard Sydney could be the ideal starting point for us, we would already know people and maybe it would help us settle quicker??

Our other options are Newcastle or Wollongong, how easy is it to get jobs in these places? I am a project administrator currently working Logistics and Exhibitions but I would do any admin job (in fact id do anything if it came to it) the hubby would like to work in the horticultural industry (again he would be willing to do anything...van driver etc)

Ideally I would like to secure a job before we leave but realistically this probably wont happen, i'm finding it difficult to get my head around where we should move to when we don't know where we are likely to find work. Don't really want to move somewhere and then have to up sticks and move again because the job market was not as good as we thought.

Really busy city life is not really for us, we enjoy the countryside and wide open spaces. We are a couple in our 30's with no children and are past the wild party stage in our lives. We want somewhere with plenty of space and a nice communal feel. NSW is so vast compared to the UK and we are overwhelmed with the options and really don't know how we are to decide where to go.

How did everyone decide where to go? Any pointers would be great.

Thanks

Edited by cjenky