Retraining & Change of Career - your stories?

3FatCats

I have read of a few people who have retrained in order to meet migration requirements, and others who have simply tired of their usual job and decided to try something different. Being on the cusp of this kind of moment myself, I wondered if you would like to share some of your stories?

In particular, I am interested in hearing how long it took to retrain in order to actually get another job, do you feel the effort was worth it and would you do it again? Also interested in what you all did and what you decided to move into, and your reasons!

I'm a professional marketer, experienced all-rounder so that includes traditional marketing and all the digital SEO too. Feeling a lot tired of corporate jobs just now, my main passion is actually writing, and organising large scale events with all the bells and whistles, and feel I am good at both. What would you suggest for me?

Many thanks! :wubclub:

I trained as a Registered Adult Nurse partly ahem... (mainly) with a view to Migrating to Oz. This is after years of on / off hospitality jobs all over the world sandwiched between lots of travel and binge drinking. OK I needed to get a real job anyway !! Great career move for anyone with a view to coming over to Australia as there are opportunities abound. If you can find your career niche your laughing :-)

Snap... I have always wanted to be a nurse but with a house, husband, two children and a dog to look after thought it impossible...

But we're desperate to move to Australia and of course this is the driving factor so will have to suck it up (the financial implications) and go for it. If Nursing gets taken off the lists then I guess it's no biggy because I will be finally getting to do something I have wanted to do in a long while....its just going to take me 4 years ?