Where to live in sydney?

sjelves

Hi all,

Today my partner and I got the news that he got a job in Sydney.

He will be working near to Circular Quay & I am a paediatric nurse hoping to get a job in a children's hospital either in Westmead or Randwick. I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions on nice areas to live with good transport links for both of us?

Our budget will be around $650 per week. Is it likely that we will be able to find a nice apartment for that amount?

Really appreciate your opinions/help.

Sophie

As a couple, go central. Sydney has miles of sprawling suburbs that are variously great for families, but can be very dull for singles & couples, so stay close to the action

IMO this means one of the following:

a) The closer suburbs of the Inner West - Glebe, Newtown, Balmain, Rozelle etc. Well-off Student/Yuppie (scuse the ancient terminology) type territory. Pick it right and you can be close to the water

b) The "Inner city" suburbs - Surry Hills, Redfern, Waterloo etc. Lots going on, very handy for everywhere, some pockets of grubbiness

c) Closer parts of the Eastern Suburbs - Paddington, Darlinghurst etc. Will be slightly more expensive

d) A very few suburbs on the North Shore, closest to the water - Neutral Bay, Kirribilli etc. Quieter here but easy in to the city. Again you can be close to the water

e) Closer in beachside suburbs if that's really important to you - Bondi, Coogee, Maroubra, Manly etc. Not cheap and more travelling but for some, being close to the beach is worth it. Manly OK for the trip to Circular Quay (direct ferry) but much less good for any hospital commute

Your budget should be fine - my Sis-in-Law rents a (very nice) 1 bed flat with big entertaining balcony, garden outlook, small kitchen, large bed + WIR, nice living room, small bathroom in Neutral Bay for $500 a week (should be $525 but she's been there a while and the landlady likes her), 5 mins walk from the ferry wharf

Have fun!