5 years in

HappyHeart

So I thought it was time to do an update...for those who know our story... my apologies for repeating myself but it might interest some..maybe?!

In a few weeks time we will attend our citizenship ceremonies and become 'Australians' and also celebrate our 5 year anniversary of moving to Perth.

For those unfamiliar with us...me..nurse late 30s..hubby...2 kids 16 and 7.

Moved to Perth Jan 09..I was sponsored on a temp visa to work full time at the local hospital. We immediately fell in love with perth. Had a long honeymoon period. All was good. Hubby took a while to find work but once he did we started to prosper. Bought a house after 18 months (came with virtually nothing) Continue to progress in our careers...I'm doing a masters Degree with full funding.

We've had a lot of visitors and returned to the UK last year for the first time. Loved it. Found it difficult to settle again once back...missing people more than anything.

Troubles with our eldest....would it have happened if we'd stayed in England? She often says wishes we had...probably a reaction to how she is at the present time rather than anything else....

Reflections and thoughts on life here...

It's a nice life...like the weather..people...landscape...vibe..culture. Suits us here.

I do think we took our home land for granted and if someone offered us a place in rural Britain...I think my heart would say yes and my head would say no.

Emigration can be a double edged sword. It gives you this fabulous lifestyle but at a cost. Selfishness means we prefer to live here at this time in our lives but I would not rule out a return in the future.

Who knows what lies ahead. All I do know is that we will embrace it with open minds like we always have and what matters most is following our dreams and hopes.

Thanks for being here PIO. Part of our lives for 6 years xxx