I can't get into any job here in Perth

Kristia Suarez

Hi, I am a newly-arrived migrant from the Philippines. I am currently a permanent resident here for three months. I already had my education assessed and it was equivalent to that of an Australian Bachelor's Degree. I'm an IT graduate and I have had already two years work experience from my home country.

I'm not very picky when looking for jobs, except that I will not do the extremely physical jobs or mechanical jobs. I have tried applying for fast food chains, cleaner jobs, data entry, even for those "no experience" jobs..you name it.

I haven't gotten any interview at all and I applied for more than a hundred jobs, including my walk-in applications. I tried applying for my field too which is IT, but I didn't get any luck. All I wanted is to just get a small job for the meantime so that I can settle, but I am having problems. I don't know what I'm doing wrong, but a consultant looked up to my resume and said it was good.

I would recommend you try a more targeted approach. In particular I would recommend you target jobs that you have your past experience in, I take it your two years experience was in IT? In which case, focus on IT.

People always seem to assume that walking into "any old job" like check out, fast food is easy, but it isn't. There is plenty of demand for those jobs too and the person that has got experience in the job will be ahead of you. So play to your strengths.

I did apply for the IT industry, but they all keep telling me that I do not have local experience... how can I get experience if I don't get hired even on the entry-level jobs?

There was this one recruitment agency, invited me to an interview. Told me that I'm just the right person for the job and then the next morning, I get an email saying that they found someone else. But then I see them posting the same vacancy again. I also followed up about my interview but no response.