AITSL advice needed

Nigel Hooley

Hi all,

I am new to the forum posts but have been reading for a considerable time. I have just received a "not suitable" result from AITSL. This decision was based on my degree being a 3 year not 4 year degree. So arising from this I have a myriad of questions some of which shall be put to AITSL directly. I was wondering if anyone here had been through a similar experience though.

So my background is that of a secondary Maths teacher having qualified through the 3 year Bachelor of Education route. This is an honours degree. So AITSL are saying I am unsuitable only on the degree length.

My questions are as follows:

1) Is there some academic content to my degree that is missing (this may be something only AITSL can answer unless someone here has experience of the same issue)

2) If there is no academic content missing why is the degree classed as unsuitable? Is it seriously just as black and white as 3 years not 4?

3) If it is this black and white issue has anybody every successfully appealed this decision?

4) The biggest I guess is since it would appear I need to do some form of course to increase from 3 to 4 years can anyone make any recommendations based on experience? These can be UK or Australia based since I have family in Australia I could live with during the course of any study.

Any help on these initial questions would be gratefully received - I am sure your responses may throw up further questions!

Thanks in advance

Hi there

Sorry about your news. Yes it is as simple as three years and not four. I have not come across anyone who has successfully appealed with 3 year study.

In order to teach in Australia you need a 4 year degree. Either 3 year honours plus PGCE or 3 year B Ed plus other post grad.

The only way to receive a positive outcome is to do additional university study.