What's not good about Melbourne

richdownunder

Hi,

I'm relatively new to PIO, but have been reading threads relating to Perth and Melbourne which are two of our favoured locations for some time and still am confused about whether Melbourne is the place for us to move too (already done a similar post for Perth), so I'd like to understand from existing residents in Melbourne what is good about living there and what's not so good.

We have previously visited Melbourne and stayed in Mount Martha and looked at Mount Eliza, Ringwood, Croydon and Berwick as places to live, so have some idea about the layout of the city etc, but as we all know holidays are different from living there.

We are a family in our 40s with a 6 year old, so we need to be in an area with good schools and good commute into the CBD as one of us sadly will have to work - probably me:(

I would really appreciate some views on the positives and negatives about living in the Melbourne area. Also, if anyone has some thoughts on good places other than what we've seen it would be most welcome - We will have a budget of about about $550,000 to buy and rent of about $400-450 PW as we want to buy as soon as possible as don't like the thought of lining a landlords pockets for too long and too much.

Thanks so much and I look forward to some interesting feedback.

Rich

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Guest The Pom Queen

Hi Rich, the biggest down side for us was the weather, it's ok at first but after a few years you start to deal the cold more. I love where we are now but Melbourne has everything you could ever want and you have a great choice of schools, hospitals etc.

The areas you looked at, Mt Eliza/Martha, Berwick etc are my favourite areas in Melbourne

Personally I find nothing bad about Melbourne and we have lived here a long long time. The weather does not bother me, although this winter has been wetter as we were in drought for the last 10 so not used to so much rain.