To stay or go back??? (England-Aus-England....)

Emmylou

I have a huge dilema that maybe someone can help me solve.

In June 2008 myself and OH moved to the Gold Coast in Qld. I lasted 18mths before feeling homesick to the point of borderline depression. We came back for a visit in April 2010 which OH hoped would help me realise why we left England (we lived in Liverpool and have returned there). It didn't got offered a job and my sister announced her pregnancy (I now have a gorgeous 1 yr old niece) which was the final nail in OH's Aussie dream. We came home in August 2010 much to my relief and OH's heartbreak. Thankfully this has not driven a wedge between us and my OH has been amazing!!!

Now 18mths on I am feeling like I did before we made the decision to move to Australia. My husband hates his job, I love mine but feel I struggle with work-life balance (I'm a registered nurse, current working as a Student Health Visitor - I qualify this summer). The weather is dismal probably owing to time of year- although there was a distinct lack of summer in the North West in 2011. And we're back on the same old merry go round with friends and family, I sometimes feel they take advantage of us or put demands on us we really don't need. Having said that I missed my family terribly in the last 6mths of being in Aus.

We have PR which expires in May 2014. I am increasingly feeling like we should go back. We had a more varied life and made some lovely friends, both Aussies and POMs. It keeps niggling at me and I just don't know what to do. OH and I have discussed it and he doesn't want to talk about it anymore until I have made up my mind. Not sure we'd want too return to the GC, but quite fancy WA or SA, not sure exactly where. Also concerned about finding work as a Nurse and OH is a carpenter but would like to get out of that trade and try his hand at something else.