457 Visa Offered: Real Concerns

ukdcsengineer

Hi Guys,

I have been offered a 457 visa by a company in Brisbane, but after reading a number posts i am concerned as i have a young son and i also believed i was going to be offered a permanent residency visa. I have a number of concerns as to whether i should accept the offer or maybe try and persuade the company to offer a different type of visa? I have copied the wording of the visa offered: :confused:

"[Company] agrees to sponsor your visa, being a Temporary Business (Long Stay) – Standard Business Sponsorship (Subclass 457), to a period of four (4) years."

My main concerns are: (I am 44 yrs old, married and my occupation is an Engineer)

1. How difficult is it to obtain PR after arriving on this visa?
  2. My son who has asthma might require medical treatment when here, would the treatment be free with this type of visa?
  3. What would be my options should my employment with the sponsoring company not work out as i have heard a couple of horror stories?
  4. What are the main differences between PR and 457?
  5. I have been offered $115,000 pa: could anyone advise if this is an amount that would afford myself and my family a decent living in Brisbane as my wife would probably not be able to work due to us having a young son?

Many thanks,

Brian and family

user_online.gifreputation.gif infraction.gif report.gif ip.gif edit.gif quote.gif multiquote_off.gif

Guest atticus