I do not understand English man

Englishlover

Hi all,

I have been daiting an English man for 3 years already. We live in the different country. We met 2 times in 2 years and we will meet again soon. I am the person who flies to see him in the UK (he is responsible for airfare).

One thing I am concerned is that he never introduce me to his family. When I asked him about this, he said he would consider it but not confirmed. Then , it led to argument.

Normally, what is the meaning in English culture when a man introduces his partner to family. Is it so important? Should I bother it?

Guest jmahood

From one woman to another let me honestly tell you how it is. You are wasting your time! The likelihood is that he is either married or in a relationship already so he will not introduce you to any of his family. Seeing him only twice in a couple of years is not a relationship. Put your efforts into finding a relationship that is fulfilling and meaningful and has the potential to go somewhere long term. Sorry, I'm not going to fluff this up for you, yes, it'll hurt, but really walking away is better then what you currently have.

(I'm a bloke by the way) it's hard to offer advice, because I don't want to say something that might end your relationship in case there really is something special there. But it does sound a bit strange. There could be many reasons why he doesn't let you see his parents, maybe in the past they weren't very accepting of his girlfriends. I'm assuming you might be eastern/oriental? Some very "English" parents may not take seriously a long distance relationship with an oriental lady. (I'm married to an oriental lady, so don't take this the wrong way).