Going for a job - what to wear? Suits?

egrek

Hi all - just joined here!

I'm currently in Vietnam and hope to be in Auz within a month! Myself and my girlfriend are looking for work - what sort of clothes should we be wearing for work and for interviews? (She's a teacher - I'm an Accountant/office worker)

I ask, as in the UK I would wear a suit for an interview and normally a suit in the day, depending on the place. But having met a couple of people from Auz going the other way - they were shocked the UK wore suits! (One guy said he'd never worn one!) They also said it would be too hot in a suit.

The other reason to ask is as we're backpacking we need to buy clothes before we get there - and as Vietnam can have cheap tailor made suits, shoudl I get one, or two? Or is a handful of shirts and trousers a better option?

PS. We're going to be based in Melbourne

Thanks in advance for all your replies!

Guest Scotinaus

Hi, you will definitely need a suit for interviews and I would definitely get or tailored over in Asia as they are stupidly expensive here!

Guest siamsusie

I'm currently in Vietnam and hope to be in Auz within a month! Myself and my girlfriend are looking for work - what sort of clothes should we be wearing for work and for interviews? (She's a teacher - I'm an Accountant/office worker)

I ask, as in the UK I would wear a suit for an interview and normally a suit in the day, depending on the place. But having met a couple of people from Auz going the other way - they were shocked the UK wore suits! (One guy said he'd never worn one!) They also said it would be too hot in a suit.

The other reason to ask is as we're backpacking we need to buy clothes before we get there - and as Vietnam can have cheap tailor made suits, shoudl I get one, or two? Or is a handful of shirts and trousers a better option?

Welcome to Poms In Oz.