Forces leaver emigrating to Melbourne

clanmcwood

Hi all, My family and I are looking to move to Melbourne in March April next year on leaving the Armed forces, I am a Mechanical engineer with qualifications in managment as well, My wife is looking to to get qualified over there to work with the disabled and my two daughters are 6 and 11 (they are just going to school, the spungers...lol)

My intention is to go through an imigration agent to apply directly for a permanent Visa through sponsership and I am visiting family out in Oz in december and look to have interviews out there then.

Any advice or prior knowlage of the pitfall involved would be most appreciated.

Many Thanks for a great forum.

Rob.

Hi Rob

While it's possible to get an employer to sponsor you while you're out there on a visit, i would also be preparing for a plan b of getting a skilled migration visa. First step is assessing whether i you're able to get 65 points on the new points scale (you can find this at immi.gov.au. All being well with this, between now and leaving the services, you can look to do an ielts test, have your skills assessed and then apply for state sponsorship. As you're in the military you won't be able to apply for your visa until you're on the proverbial civvy street but getting these steps done will mean you can lodge as soon as you have your discharge papers.

Welcome. Have a look around in here there are loads of ex forces (including myself, ex RN) who are either holding a visa, or are in the process on various methods.

I hope you are making the most of your resettlement, dont waste it. Remember also (easier to say than do) in your last 12, worry about you and your family, many of us leave and remain dedicated to the last second, but to be honest, you would get any more recogntion than those who do nowt (sure you have seen them)