Age Pensioner

Guest chopendoz

Guest chopendoz

I am considering moving back to the UK after an absence of over 40 years. It seems that my Australian Age Pension is more that twice as much as the current rate of State Pension. I am aware that my part UK Pension is frozen while I am in Australia but if/when I return, I can apply for a reassessment which stays in place as long as I stay in the UK or move to some God forsaken place like Turkey or Bosnia. My question is, given that the State Pension has increased by £20 since my date of claim, does my part Pension increase by that amount ? That would be an added incentive. I might add that I am not a property owner hoping to cash in on the fluctautions of the real estate market/exchange rate. I am just a poor old man wanting to go home and hoping that I can survive in the UK.

Guest chopendoz

I was in the UK last September to visit my sister in Scotland and do some family history research. I realized that I missed it even though practically everyone I knew is gone. I came to Australia in 1968 but in the years since have lived for various periods in South Africa, Thailand, New Zealand, USA and a few place in between, before basing myself in Tasmania. I could drone on and on about the aspects of Australia life that I find myself less able to tolerate, but I won't. I'm tired of that too. Suffice it to say, even though Australia has provided me with a decent life, there's no place like home.