Accountant - negative skills assessment

KTG1000

Hi everyone.

I have today received a negative PASA (Pre-Application-Skills-Assessment) from the ICAA (Institute of Chartered Accoutants of Australia). I'm an Accountancy & Finance graduate 2:1 (BA Hons).

The ICAA comfirm that my degree is assessed as comparable to the level of an Australian Bachelor degree based on AEI-NOOSR guidelines but I am not suitable for my nominated occupation as Accountant 2211-11.

They say that this is because not all of the core knowledge areas have been studied in my degree or have not been covered in sufficient depth.

I have been working in practice as an Accountant since graduation for the past nine years.

I was hoping you might be able to advise if there is any point in me contesting this or if there would be any point in having my skills assessed by another recognised accountancy body?

The news has left me totally devestated. I was confident this would be only a formality.

I am part-qualified ACCA with my final three exams left to do. However, I have a little boy aged two and I didn't really want to wait for the 12 months post qualified once I have completed ACCA before going.

Would it be an option for me to acquire an employer sponsored Visa now and make entry that way. Would I be automatically accepted for PR after two years?

I would be sincerely grateful for your thoughts, I really would.

Many thanks,

Helen

Guest Waikiki

Hi Helen

Sorry to hear about your skills assessment. Cant help on the sponsorship query but can tell you that I spent a lot of time looking into this 1 year post qualification requirement for accountancy and there seems to be a lot of uncertainty about it. Certainly I attained a positive skills assessment from the ICAA having only been admitted to the ICAEW for 4 months.