60:40 split between UK & Oz

Hello!

i am a uk resident, social worker who is awaiting invitation for 189 visa. If this were to be invited and granted, will I be able to operate a 60:40 split between the Uk and Oz (Uk the 60) as I hold property here. Would this be possible or a pipe dream? 

There's only one way to find out. I've fantasized about doing a similar scenario because I find UK winter awful!

Personally I think you are going to find the logistics of doing this really tricky to manage.  I think the circumstances where it could work would be if you are very wealthy, young, with no spouse and definitely no kids! You are going to need a very understanding boss who doesn't mind you going missing for half the year (on both sides of the world.)  Or a completely remote job. If you do have a job in both countries, then you may find there are tax implications?

Shipping your stuff back twice a year will be an utter pain, so I'd not do this.  Keep possessions to an absolute minimum in both locations.

With regards to your UK property, what would you do with it?  Its likely not a good idea to leave it empty, but finding a tenant who wants to stay for just 5 months every year is likely to be tricky.

For the 4 months in Oz, you are probably looking at a short term holiday style rental as most rentals will want a 12 month commitment.  Might be easier to rent a room in a shared house, or In fact I'd even say you could live in a holiday park,  -  Our favorite holiday park, Pambula Beach has basic cabins at $4.5k for 4 months. Live right on the beach with a swimming pool etc...

My advice-  If you really think Australia is the place for you, then move over, lock stock and barrel.  Perhaps delay selling your UK property until you settle, so you have an easy way back if it doesn't work out.

• Like 2

1 hour ago, excitedbutterrified said:

There's only one way to find out. I've fantasized about doing a similar scenario because I find UK winter awful!