NHS pension- asset/income test for pension

crazmook

2 hours ago, crazmook said:

G'day,

Would anyone happen to know if the NHS pension is subject to the asset test when it comes to reaching state pension age here in Australia?  Or it is just the actual payment that you get that will be subject to the income test?

Cheers!

You can't transfer an NHS pension to a super fund in Australia, so I'm reasonable confident (although I wouldn't bet my house on it) that it isn't classed as an asset and it's only the income stream that's taxable. There are other members who know the ins and outs much better than I do, so hopefully they will comment too.

On 16/09/2023 at 06:23, Lara40 said:

Hi all.

My husband is going for a 482 visa and I’ll be going as his spouse. He is a DR and has a sponsorship. We are hoping to move out to WA next year from the UK and are really excited and grateful to be able to take this opportunity.

I am a mental health nurse and wondered if I will be able to find work once out there on the visa as my husbands spouse? Or does Australia just want people on a 189/PR visa?

The visa will be under him as the main person but I’ll obviously be moving out with him to and will want to work as a nurse. I would hate not to be able to find work. I love my job and trained and worked in UK as a nurse for years now. I can’t see myself wanting to do anything else.

Would it be better for me to try and secure a job before we move? Or should I wait until we see there? Can anyone recommend any mental health nursing job recruitment agencies?

Does anyone have any recommendations whether inpatient work or community mental health is better?

14 hours ago, crazmook said:

G'day,

Would anyone happen to know if the NHS pension is subject to the asset test when it comes to reaching state pension age here in Australia?  Or it is just the actual payment that you get that will be subject to the income test?

Cheers!