Newbie some help please.

ThomasC

Hello. 

I did a working holiday visa a few years back and had the fortune of being able to work for Healthcare Australia for a few months in disability care. 

I am now looking at my options as to whether I could move over from the UK. 

I am a support worker in the UK, my highest qualification is Level 4 NVQ, Children, young people, family practitioner. I have 6+ years of experience. 

Looking on the skills list, there is 411712 disabilities service officer and 411713 Family support worker. 

Visas 489 and 482 seeming the most appropriate for me and it's listed under STSOL. 

Having read it I don't understand what I actually need to do or what the requirements are? It's assessed by ACWA and having looked at their website that's where I'd file for my skills assessment. 

Requirements of this visa, are skill level 2 and qualifications equivalent to AQF Level 5, but then does say 3 years experience may substitute for this. Also says AQF associate degree, advanced diploma or diploma

What else would be required? English exam? It's all very confusing and overwhelming. 

I thought people on here might have advice before I spend any sort of money if there's no chance at all I'd be successful. 

Many thanks 

Whilst it won’t be free, i suggest you set up a detailed consultation with a registered migration agent so you can properly understand what options you do or don’t have. For example the 489 visa was retired for new applicants nearly 2 years ago and has been replaced by the 491. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

1 minute ago, paulhand said:

Whilst it won’t be free, i suggest you set up a detailed consultation with a registered migration agent so you can properly understand what options you do or don’t have. For example the 489 visa was retired for new applicants nearly 2 years ago and has been replaced by the 491. 

Thanks Paul. Might give you a ring just trying to way up my options and do as much research as possible first. 

Big decision.