*Urgent* Form 80 - had any outstanding debts to the Australian Government or any public authority in Australia?

Sigemup

Hi guys,

I am a permanent resident in Aus and am filling form-80 for partner visa application for my wife and for the question 36 in part-k there is a question to which needs to answer yes or no. The question is "had any outstanding debts to the Australian Government or any public authority in Australia?"

When I filed the tax in Oct 2018, I received a notification that I need to pay $1450 as medicare levy. I had forgotten to pay that until around Feb 2019. I then received a letter from Probe Collections asking me to pay the due amount. I immediately paid the amount and it was cleared. 

What do I need to answer this question in form-80 that I mentioned in the first paragraph "had any outstanding debts to the Australian Government or any public authority in Australia?". Should I answer yes ? 

If so, what would be the impact of this ? I had inadvertently missed this and then when I got the letter I immediately paid it and cleared it. Also, what would it have any impact on citizenship application that I am looking to apply in a bit or so. 

21 minutes ago, wrussell said:

No...........

Hi Wrussell,

Could you please let me  know why the answer should be No ? The question says "Have you ever had any outstanding debt" . Just want to confirm.  I also double checked mygov portal just now and turns out I had received an online notification there in Jan 2019 as well (Notification on mygov reads "Overdue tax debt"). But I had not logged in then and so I only found when I opened my post mail box in around March 2019 (checked past emails to Tax accountant I had contacted about the Probe collections letter -  correct date is March 2019 and not Feb 2019 that is mentioned above)  and then I found letter from probe collections and immediately paid it. 

Thank you

Edited by Sigemup

Hi guys,

Could you please provide any inputs on the question asked above ?