Any one in Orana (preferably Dubbo) on 489 visa

Hi guys, we (myself, wife and child) received 489 visa by the end of 2017 and we made our 1st entry in a week and returned from Australia (we stayed in Australia for just 8 days). We had visa granted from RDA Orana, and we found Dubbo is most prominent city there, so we made a visit to Dubbo too during our 1st entry. Now, I am planning to move to Orana, in order to satisfy the 2 year period required to apply for 887. I am an Electrical Engineer by profession having 9 years experience, but I know that the chances of getting a job in my stream will be less than 5%. I would appreciate if any one on 489 visa living in Orana Region, in particular Dubbo can please comment here, so that it would help me to prepare before I land there. Initially I am not taking my family along as I don't how things would be.

Thank you guys

Personally, I would not ever consider living in Dubbo.   It is a long, long way from anywhere else, the climate is hot and the economy is not particularly good. I think you will struggle to find work there.

I would suggest looking at Mudgee, it is a thriving little town and only 3 hours from Sydney and Newcastle. Unjlike Dubbo, there is a lot of tourism there as well as mining and farming, and that attracts more businesses, which means more work.  

Edited by Marisawright
  • Like 1

9 hours ago, Marisawright said:

Personally, I would not ever consider living in Dubbo.   It is a long, long way from anywhere else, the climate is hot and the economy is not particularly good. I think you will struggle to find work there.

I would suggest looking at Mudgee, it is a thriving little town and only 3 hours from Sydney and Newcastle. Unjlike Dubbo, there is a lot of tourism there as well as mining and farming, and that attracts more businesses, which means more work.  

I couldn't live in Dubbo either.  Agree about Mudgee and Orange is a much better place too.

1 hour ago, Scorpionrocks said: