Registering a relationship

MartinMwg

Both my partner and I are married (to other people ?) but have been in a relationship for 6 months and living together for the last 3 months.

I am a permanent resident (just applied for citizenship) and my partner is currently on a post graduate visa which will expires in mid October 2018.

So the question is can we register our relationship (obviously on the grounds that we can prove it is genuine), even though we are both married (but separated) ?

or

Are there any other options open to us that will allow my partner to stay in Australia? 

Thanks in advance.. 

I read on one  website that potentially you can apply for a partner visa but that it may not be easy. Another website it gave the example that in NSW to register your relationship you can't be married to anyone else.

Immigration may question the on going nature of your relationship with it only being 6 months currently - I'd take some advice from a registered migration agent.

1 hour ago, MartinMwg said:

Both my partner and I are married (to other people ?) but have been in a relationship for 6 months and living together for the last 3 months.

I am a permanent resident (just applied for citizenship) and my partner is currently on a post graduate visa which will expires in mid October 2018.

So the question is can we register our relationship (obviously on the grounds that we can prove it is genuine), even though we are both married (but separated) ?

When you say you are married, when did you separate from your respective ex-partners?   I'm pretty sure you'll have to be divorced before you can register a new relationship

I would assume you both need to be divorced from your respective spouses before registering a relationship. That's certainly the case in Victoria:

In Victoria, you can register a domestic relationship between two adults who are a couple if:

• You're both at least 18 years old
  • One party lives in Victoria