457 Query - When can I go to Aus?

Newbie here,

I've looked through the search history, and can't quite find the answer to my question. 

I have had a verbal offer from my current employer to move to our offices in Melbourne. Their HR department is saying that 457 visa is the best way forward. My understanding is there is a long lead time for this visa. My employer wants me to move over and begin working ASAP. 

What are my options here? 

I've read lots about bridging visas, but you seem to need to be in Aus to apply for these. 

Any help would be great. (for clarity: I am currently living and working in the UK) 

Thanks

Are you eligible for a working holiday visa? I’m sure others will jump in on if that’s doable. I moved over before with a 4 months contract and a W H visa. That was a while back.

I’m currently dancing the HR tango, back and forth on details, delaying my 457 application. They need references before doing a contract, and they keep forgetting time zones and wondering why references aren’t answering the phone at 6am!

They are confident for an expedited application (they are accredited and process quite a lot of them), otherwise they’ll need to make a plan for me to work remotely from UK employed in UK temporarily. Never easy!

1 hour ago, Jd295 said:

Are you eligible for a working holiday visa? I’m sure others will jump in on if that’s doable. I moved over before with a 4 months contract and a W H visa. That was a while back.

I’m currently dancing the HR tango, back and forth on details, delaying my 457 application. They need references before doing a contract, and they keep forgetting time zones and wondering why references aren’t answering the phone at 6am!

They are confident for an expedited application (they are accredited and process quite a lot of them), otherwise they’ll need to make a plan for me to work remotely from UK employed in UK temporarily. Never easy!