How to cost effectively spend more time in Oz?

johnboy100

Hi there everyone,

My wife and I have only one son and he emigrated to Australia 5 years ago on a Partner Visa and is now married (and has now been granted Permanent Residency) to an Australian and they have a young daughter. We looked at emigrating there a couple of years ago but at our age (both 56), the only option appeared to be the Contributory Parent Visa at huge cost (even higher now due to the fall in the £) so we didn't go for it in the end. Although I am a well qualified engineer, I don't think there are any work-related visas that would be available to me. We are both retired and own our UK property and although have a good pension in UK terms, it is not enough to sustain buying a property over in Australia (plus I believe non-residents can only buy off-plan new builds which limits the areas available) without downsizing possibly to a small flat here. My question is fairly general but I wondered if anyone can suggest the best, most cost-effective way of spending more time in Australia in order that we can see our grand-daughter grow up - maybe long-term renting or purchasing a static-sited caravan (if they have those in Aus), house swaps or an extended stay visitor visa (if it exists). Our son and daughter-in-law live in Sydney but only have a small apartment so staying with them is not feasible plus who would want their parents/in-laws staying long-term with them? Hence, hotels cost a lot in the long run! Open for any suggestions - thanks