IELTS academic - frustrating!

samjwilli

I'm a qualified nurse, born and bred in England, who has numerous qualifications including a batchelors degree with hons, post grad diploma plus other nursing qualifications but yet I seemed to have "failed" the reading and listening IELTS! It's so bloody frustrating!

I couldn't actually believe it! This now means I need to re-sit and pay them another £150!

Can any one please advise or give any hints/tips of how to get a better score in reading and listening?!

My my results are as follows -

L - 6.5

R - 6.5

W - 8.0

S - 9.0

overall - 7.5 (not that means much)

Any guidance or experiences much appreciated

thanks sam xx

I'm a qualified nurse, born and bred in England, who has numerous qualifications including a batchelors degree with hons, post grad diploma plus other nursing qualifications but yet I seemed to have "failed" the reading and listening IELTS! It's so bloody frustrating!

I couldn't actually believe it! This now means I need to re-sit and pay them another £150!

Can any one please advise or give any hints/tips of how to get a better score in reading and listening?!

L - 6.5

R - 6.5

W - 8.0

S - 9.0

thanks sam xx

I can recommend the IELTS practice book. It costs about 30 pounds. It comes with a cd and some practice tests. It's not an easy test to get a top score in all bands, I did about 4 practice tests and found they really helped.

good luck

Hi sam

I also used the Cambridge ielts practice book and cd, there are practice tests on the ielts website, and I also got some tips from watching ielts Ryan on you tube. The other thing to consider is the transfer of answers to the marking sheet. There is room for error here, so try to leave it enough time to transfer the answers without rushing this bit. Good luck

Thanks milliem, I'll have a look. How did you get on? X