Investments? UK Property?

surfnturf

I'm a Permanent resident, mid 20’s, no dependants and no long term plans to stay here in Oz or head back to UK, currently undecided. For time being I'm not making the most of my savings, which are in an account earning little interest. Considering buying a UK property as an investment to rent out. I’d try to deposit around 25% and mortgage of around 75%, if possible to do so.

When it comes to Australian tax I understand I would need to declare any profits for tax due. Would loses/costs be eligible for tax deductions?

Is there any UK/Australian tax issues that may arise if I ping and pong between Australia and UK?

Or perhaps I should consider alternative investments to UK property?

I'd be interested to hear your views, thanks.

On your tax, you actually declare it on both UK and Australian tax returns. Then as it is a UK property, the UK taxman gets first bit of the cherry and if you pay any tax in UK (which you might not because of personal allowance), then this tax is shown as tax credit on the Australian return. Certain costs would be allowable for tax deduction yes, note that this does not mean your mortgage payment, that is not an allowable deduction, only interest charged by the lender is a deduction).

As to whether it is worth it or not, I am just not sure anyone can help you out with that as it is personal choice. Yes it might earn more income than a bank account, but it is a lot of hassle as well, or it can be rather.

I'm a Permanent resident, mid 20’s, no dependants and no long term plans to stay here in Oz or head back to UK, currently undecided. For time being I'm not making the most of my savings, which are in an account earning little interest. Considering buying a UK property as an investment to rent out. I’d try to deposit around 25% and mortgage of around 75%, if possible to do so.