Should i apply for PR whilst im here in Australia now, or wait till im home in UK?

Elliott Banham

Hello, I am looking to apply for the skilled migration PR 189 visa, I work as a chef, currently still working in Perth. My temporary 2nd working holiday visa expires end of February.

I realise that because of my profession, that i need to choose either the 457 or PR subclass 189 (state sponsorship to WA). I am not interested in 457.

I know that i already pass the points score, i just need to do the skillselect then do my EOI

I'm undecided whether or not i should start this process whilst I'm in this country now - if its not already too late? (or wait to return to the UK and apply from the UK)

The only reason that i thought about applying for the PR visa in England, was that i can claim all my Superannuation payments back (a few thousand dollars) then use this money to apply for the visa.

A few questions...

if I applied in England, can I pay in australian dollars, or do i have to exchange my money to GBP (losing money)

If i had the permanent residency visa, how much time do i have to spend in WA each year (can i spend 2 months a year in the UK) I will want to become a citizen of Australia as soon as possible...

is it easier and less expensive to apply for this visa in Australia, or is it just as simple to apply outside of Australia. (will i find it harder applying in England)

I would really appreciate your opinion, I am really confused, and unsure where i can receive help.

Kind Regards,

HI

As far as i know

The visa you are looking to apply for could take up to 6 months to process. This don't include any of the time it takes to get all the relevant checks and medicals organised and back to lodge with your visa application and at this time of year i would have thought your pushing it.

If you apply in England you can pay with Australian $$ no problem. I'm sure you can use your AnZ card or Nab or who ever

To become a citizen you must