Advice for a Scottish teacher looking to teach in WA

kd268

Hello,

I've just joined this forum so I apologise if there have been any similar thread recently (I didn't see any). I am looking to emigrate to Australia in the next 2/3 years. I know job opportunities will change between now and then but I am still keen to find out.

Currently I am in my 4th year of my B.Ed Primary teaching degree. Next year I will have a probation year in Scotland and then after that I intend to travel and end up in Oz to stay. Me and my boyfriend are keen travelers and backpackers. We plan to travel around Asia for 6 months if not more before we settle in Oz I also have a TEFL qualification and will be teaching english while we are there. My partner is an environmental engineer and he hopes to get a job at Kalgoorlie in Oz so we intend to move to WA. He lived in Oz on a working holiday visa 2008 and WA was his favorite and I love the idea of it. He is entitled to a 2 year of his visa as he did fruit picking etc in rural areas so I intend to come over on a working holiday and he will use his 2nd year while we find jobs, sort out more permanent visa. We also plan to get some temporary work and I hope to teach supply during this time to get some Australian teaching experience.

Any way less rambling and more to the point. We regularly look at jobs and the SOL list. I know currently his job is on the SOL list however Primary teachers are not only secondary. However I know there are a lot of Primary jobs going in WA between Perth to down Margaret river area. This is ideal for us as he will fly in and out to Kalgoorlie( as far as we know) and we are happy to (if not keen) to live in a more rural area. I am happy to live and teach in a small town and there seems to be a lot of these positions going. I'm not sure how open these are to me though or if they are more likely to go to aussie applicants?