Almost qualified nurse looking for advice!

nicholiverpool

Hi all,

im currently in my third year of nursing soon to be qualified with a degree, want to get over to oz as soon as possible but unsure which visa to go on, looked at 189 but waiting time is quite a while, does anybody know much about the state sponsored visa? How easy is it to get this newly qualified? And how long I'd have to wait before getting to australia?

also, looking at moving furniture and dog over, anybody know who is the best to go with for these things. Will be going to perth,

any advice much appreciated

Hi all,

im currently in my third year of nursing soon to be qualified with a degree, want to get over to oz as soon as possible but unsure which visa to go on, looked at 189 but waiting time is quite a while, does anybody know much about the state sponsored visa? How easy is it to get this newly qualified? And how long I'd have to wait before getting to australia?

also, looking at moving furniture and dog over, anybody know who is the best to go with for these things. Will be going to perth,

any advice much appreciated

if you have all the qualifications for visa 189, meaning you have at least 60 points on SkillSelect, then it's the best choice, and maybe one of the fastest, too. State Sponsored visa (190) requires, well, sponsorship from a state or territory. State sponsorship can take up to 4-5 months before you can apply for PR (190). Processing times vary. According to DIAC, 189 applications are processed within 12 months, and 190 takes about 6 months. So when you count everything, it's almost the same (as you have to wait for state sponsorship first before applying for 190 visa). In reality, based from other's experiences, both visa category only takes about 5 months.

Now, being a nurse, you have to get your skills assessed by ANMAC. This is a prerequisite for all permanent visa application (189, 190). This process takes about 12 weeks or more.