Change of plan - we're off to perth. HELP!!!!!

tasormelb

Hi, I would be grateful for advice from people who have made the move to Perth or visited.

We have PR and have been to Melbourne twice and were intending to move there in July, however I've found it very difficult trying to secure a job (I'm a nurse) the only people who seem to be hiring are private hospitals and this is not my ideal.

However I have been offered a fab job in Perth with an excellent package from a large charitable health care provider. The employers seem to want to help us make this move as smooth as possible and help us settle in. They asked me if I want to live NOR or SOR as they have several bases around Perth (I will be working in the community). I have previously looked at Baldivis so said SOR, do you thinks this is a good choice?

We have 2 teens 13 and 16yrs. We live in a small village which doesn't even have a shop but want to live in an area will more, perhaps a few shops, on a bus route and with a train station, within 30- 40 Mins of CBD and 20-30mins of a beach. Daughter is mad about horses so riding is very important and will need a decent high school. 16yr old wants to be a science teacher so will return to High school so hopefully he will be able to go to Uni. My base will be Jandakot, oh will be looking for unskilled work such as warehouse, forklift driving. What areas do you suggest I look at?

I have a hundred questions as have spent years researching Melbourne but now have 3 months to research Perth. Ahhhhhhh! :arghh:

Thanks

Baldivis is for what you describe a good choice. It is a new suburb, but close to Jandakot and about 30 mins on the train from the CBD. For horse riding, there is Pinjara which is a short drive south and a very horse area.