Medicare - UK resident, but not citizen

sarah2603

Hi guys

I've been a UK resident for over two years, but I'm a German citizen. I'm still registered in Germany (just for bank purposes, really), but obviously I'm also 'registered' here in the UK.

Now, am I entitled to Medicare, or are only UK citizens eligible?

If I am entitled, is it true that Medicare only covers for emergencies? Because I read on their homepage that you can go and see a GP as well, however, many people posted in various forums that Medicare health insurance is generally not sufficient (sufficient for the visa, yes, but not for your health lol - going on a 457, secondary applicant, btw).

In addition, it says on Medicare's homepage that you will have to pay the difference between what the GP charges and what Medicare would pay for. Anybody any idea what kinda amount one would be looking at here? Because I'm thinking it might make more sense to just pay this difference twice a year (I'm rarely sick lol), than taking out additional private insurance...then again, you'd have to pay for the dentist as well, don't you. So maybe additional private one after all??

Thanks a lot!

Sarah

I believe you require british citizenship. There are some other countries that are eligible but I am not sure which.

Insurance doesn't cover gp visits. You pay at the time of the visit. If you do get Medicare then you hand over your card to the receptionist and your bank / credit card. They normally charge about $70 a visit and Medicare covers about half of it.

Insurance covers hospital treatment, dental and ambulances.

I have top of the range heal insurance with Bupa and don't get anything for doctors visits. But excellent for lots of other things for example the wife is tomorrow having root canal dental work that would cost about $800 but will only cost me $80. She also has physio every week and it covers this.

Also, prescriptions are not covered by Medicare or insurance