NSW State Sponsorship for a 176 - your experience?

Dono

Hi fellow PIO people :)

I have a question (or three) about NSW state sponsorship.

I want to apply for state sponsorship as an accountant as I have a positive skills assessment from the ICAA in that occupation.

My questions are:

• Has anyone here recently applied for state sponsorship with NSW?
  • Do they reply within their 3 to 4 week timeframe?
  • How strict are they? I meet their requirements in that I am a Chartered Accountant at the time of application with 3+ years experience at a big four firm in external audit - but from the sounds of things, for example, VIC is incredibly strict and rejects people left and right?
  • Did you get a grant? Specifically, did you get a grant as an accountant? If you did, what was your work experience background?

I'd really appreciate some feedback on the above as I am stressing a bit. I have to wait until January to apply for NSW SS because I don't yet meet the 3 year minimum experience requirement in my occupation.

Thank you!

• 2 weeks later...
Guest MarkJowett

Hi Dono

I'm about to start applying for NSW state sponsorship too and have the same issues - can't find much information from people who have gone through it before. I originally applied to SA who have a whole forum of people doing the same which helped a lot (pomsinadelaide) but nothing seems too prevelant for NSW. I got rejected from SA as the planning levels were met for my occupation as i was applying which was annoying but the show must go on.

I have questions about the docuements you need to send with your application:

1. At the beginning it says that all documents must be certified - but then further down under employer references it says that it should be certified - so should all docs be certified or just the employer refs - oh and personal refs (just noticed that).

2. Optional Documents

- Letters of reference - who should these be from and what should they say?