Any UK teachers with GTP ever got a 457 in OZ?

Guest CazRoma3210

Guest CazRoma3210

Has any teacher from the UK who trained on the GTP EVER managed to get a 457 visa with The Graduate Teacher Programme? I am assuming no, as it seems contrary to advice I have already been given, however it's been suggested to me by a visa agent this week that in South Australia this MIGHT be possible.

Until I have some evidence from someone who has managed this feat not sure whether to let myself believe this....Has anyone actually managed to get a 457 teaching post with GTP and can let me know and add a little hope? :)

Thank you for any advice in advance!

Guest CazRoma3210

I have been a Primary teacher for nearly ten years. (Though am qualified to teach both primary and secondary in the UK if I wished to-art and english)

Not in the recent past I should think as the basic requirement for all states is 4 year training as a teacher and there are plenty of teachers around who cant find work so the prospect of a theoretically unqualified teacher (sorry, but the Aus education systems will say you are as you are a GTP not a PGCE) being offered sponsorship is really rather a remote one. If you think SA will do it, then give them a call and find out but I dont fancy your chances, sorry.

You'll have to go back to uni in Aus I'm afraid, in SA Flinders Uni do a (currently) 1 year course, but if you aren't on someone's visa you'll have to pay overseas student rates (something like A$15000 :chatterbox:).