Dyslexia - Anyone having problems getting it recognised?

Guest jinoz

Hi, I am completely new to this and have come here to see if anyone else is having the same problems we are. We moved to Melbourne nearly a year ago with our two children 8 and 6. We've noticed now that our 8 year old daughter is really starting to struggle at school and has all the classic symptoms for dyslexia, however much to our dismay we have found that it is not 'recognised' here or as the school put it to me, there are those who thinks it exists and those who dont. I got the distinct impression she was in the latter camp!!! Anyway, we've had her privately assessed and our worries confirmed, but we dont want to pay $2,500 for 7 days worth of private assistance only to have it undone by the school (who are now going to get her assessed by a psychologist). As anyone else out there come across the same thing as we really don't know what to do for the best. Any help, advice, recommendations, forums etc would be most welcome. Thanks

Cant help but wanted to wish you & your daughter good luck, the school doesnt sound very helpful or supportive

Hugs X

HI Lynn, Thanks. Its quite bizarre as they school did listen to all my concerns and like I said will get her assessed but I'm worried it won't be the right help that she receives. Looking at other posts, I can see I am not alone....!!!!

Hi,

take a look at this site, they may be able to help and/or offer advice.

http://www.dyslexia-australia.com.au/

Hope you manage to sort something out.

Thanks Colin, we have looked at that website and it is one of the better ones, its the lack of recognition that is the most frustrating thing. Looks like I've got a lot of drum banging and door knocking to do!!! Thanks again