anyone in their 40s 50s

legoman

Guest cazbeckham

Am in my 60th year and been in Buderim on Sunshine Coast for just over 2 years and had no problem with ageism.

But we are retired so not sure whether it would have an effect if looking for work.

Guest Guest31881

Hi, 57 now i was 56 when i arrived, I have no problem with Ageism, I am now running a museum with my wife, we wanted to do something different. No previous experience but a lot of enthusiasm. We were selected for the job whilst some younger couples were declined. So now I am a retired British paramedic, running a local history Museum in Queensland. I cannot think of any other country where I would have been given this opportunity. :biggrin:

I celebrated my 43rd birthday just after we arrived, hubby was also 42 - we've settled really well, although in the UK we were never as a family dependent upon other family or friends with the children etc., and were a very indepedent unit. This helped us in some ways, because when we moved here to WA we didn't know anyone

Guest guest30038

"I'd rather be an old fart than a young dickhead" is the sticker on my fourby. I like the attitude of that sticker...............don't get many tailgaters although the Tae Kwon Do sticker may have something to do with that :biglaugh:

Nope, the only problem I'm getting from ageing (62) is athritis. Haven't been in the job market so wouldn't know if there is discrimination. I do know that kids here seem to respect their elders more, and in the mals, if some kids buggering about bump into me, a look from me is enough to get an apology.

kev

Guest kmthor

Depends in what industry your in. if your looking for a job on the mines and need training, theres no way there going to put money into an older person.

i think if your on contract or casual it dosnt matter but if your looking for perminant it is definatly a more select field you have to chose from

note you do not have to declear your age on a CV or at an interview