Accepted Job Offer in Melbourne - Now What??

emmafaye

Hi all,

I'm a newbie so please be gentle with me!

OH had been in touch with a company in Melb who have offered him a job and a very generous relocation package, which includes flights, visas, accomodation etc. After sending us a copy of the contract, he has accepted the job, but I'm just wondering what happens now?

Am I right in thinking that the company applies to the gov for the visa etc, and so we just sit back and wait to be contacted?

Will there be a breakdown of what needs doing when, i.e. medicals etc?

We need to arrange our house to be let out, and so we are wondering how long (generally, of course) the whole process from this point can take?

Should we wait until we hear about something specific or just go ahead and instruct a letting agent regardless?

We have the option of moving in with family until we fly out, but dont know how quickly we need to get organised with everything!

Sorry if I'm rambling, but I'm excited and a teeny bit scared of what needs doing and when!

Thanks for reading and I hope you can shed some light for me.

Emma x

Guest Stevebel

Congratulations on a great opportunity - I'm sure lots of us are eyeing your situation with envious eyes :yes:

You'll almost certainly be going on a 457 visa, which for UK applicants has a maximum processing time of two months from the date of submission (reference: http://www.immi.gov.au/about/charter.../visas/3.0.htm).

There'll be some paper-chasing before you actually submit the application though, and people more knowledgable than me have said that can take up to a month, so you could be planning for a start date of March / April.

Your OH should talk to the company involved though. They'll be able to give a real indication as to how long these things take, and what sort of paperwork he'll need to generate.

What a lovely Christmas present for you both!

Guest The Pom Queen

Hi Emma