extra for tattoos

gazza

hi all

we are in the process of finding out were to get our medicals done.

we live in downham market so our nearest place to go is

cambridge migration medical services.

weve been quoted-

£185 for adult

£60 for 7 year old

£155 for 13 year old

plus because i have 2 tattoos and my wife has a small tattoo on her

shoulder they want another £100 each.

Is the extra cost for a tattoo normal and are the prices weve been quoted

reasonable? do prices vary much depending on were you go?

I cant find any recent posts on this so would love to here were to go, what we should be paying.

thanks gazza

Guest leeandkellie

does it depend on how long u've had the tattoos? both me an hubby have had ours for years plus i had a hep a+b during my pregnancy last year so im all clear

Hi there Gazza,

Sorry to say, but that does seem an awful lot, but I suppose they can charge what they want as it is classed as private. Well I have 5 tattoos (discreet ones) and I am a nurse, so I had to have Hep B,C and HIV all of which I had had very recently during my pregnancy, you don't need Hep A as it is not commonly a blood borne disease.

For the 3 of us (my husband, myself and my little boy who is now 6 months old I think the overall total was about £500 and that included everything. Xrays and all.

Ah here we go I have found our medicals price list.

Medical Examination

Adult (over 15) £85

Child (under 15) £65

Blood Tests

HIV Screen £22

Hep B screen (if you have tattoos or body piercings) £22

Hep C (medical personnel) £22

Chest Xray (11 and over) £80

Postage (Insured)

To London High Commission single - £6.00

Family - £8.00

To Australia £10

Courier to Sydney £15

This was with Tudor House Medicals in Nottingham.

http://www.visa-medicals.co.uk

Perhaps it is worth your while travelling further afield and ringing a few others for prices.

I presume you are looking on the Australian Immigration website for Visa medicals practices.

Good Luck

Lisa x