chances at age 43

Sang

Hi,

so, I have been working in youth mental health field for nearly three years and would love to relocate to Australia. I understand NT and south Australia offer state nominations. Just don’t know if I have left it too late! Have a young family and would love to follow dream, but what are my chances…

1 hour ago, Sang said:

Hi,

so, I have been working in youth mental health field for nearly three years and would love to relocate to Australia. I understand NT and south Australia offer state nominations. Just don’t know if I have left it too late! Have a young family and would love to follow dream, but what are my chances…

Hi. None of us can answer this question very accurately. Your best bet is to consult a registered migration agent. I am 43 and am awaiting grant of my 189 for secondary teaching on minimum points (65). It happened really quickly but I think that’s quite unusual. Have you checked to see if your job is on the skill shortage list? 

• Like 1

7 hours ago, Sang said:

Before Covid, I'd have said your chances were poor because your points score must be pretty low at 43.  However as @Cheery Thistle notes, things have changed, so you have a golden opportunity to give it a shot, if you get started right now.  You are getting older all the time and the whole process of getting your visa will take a year or more, so you haven't a moment to lose. Book a thorough, paid consultation with a good migration agent (the free consultations are too high-level to give you any idea).  Get a quote from Suncoast Migration or Go Matilda. 

• Like 4

• 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...

Thanks everyone. I am 44 in a few days. So I am concerned I have left it too late. Also hear that it takes upto a year to be invited to apply (state nomination). 

I am a youth worker (so on the list). I have enough points (including state nomination), but without this not enough. Did you have enough points before state nomination? Thanks