Advice on Visa Type to Apply For?

bearnova64

My Australian fiance(she born there) and I ( I am born in England) wish to move permanently to Australia and then a few years after settling marry there. We have lived together in the UK for 4 years in a property we own and have plenty of evidence we are a genuine couple. As gaining permanent residency over temporary I am told has many advantages I assume I should

1) Apply for permanent subclass 100 visa instead of the temporary 309 visa? 

2) What are the approximate total costs of applying for the permanent visa ( assuming you advise I should go for this over the temporary) ?

3) How long roughly does it take to process the visa application and once approved I have to move within what time window before it expires and I would have to reapply?

4) Once we move to Australia, there is no time window in which we have to get married?

My 309/100 was approved earlier this year so I have some recent relevant experience

1) no, you apply for both together.  There's no separate application nor separate cost.  Most often in straightforward cases they get approved together.

2) I spent £5,400.  The application is the bulk of it.  Then medicals, police checks etc.

3) I spent almost 50 hours completing the application.   It was approved 6 weeks after submission and might have been quicker if I hadn't sat on my hands for several weeks after being asked to submit medical checks.  

3a) you have to travel to Australia within a year to activate your visa.    You can literally fly in and fly out if you wish.

3b) 5 years from grant.    There might be complications around Resident Return Visa if you haven't lived in Australia for 2 years prior to the end of the 5 but doesn't seem like a material issue.    

4) I don't think so.  It's a partner visa, not a prospective marriage visa.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, bearnova64 said:

As gaining permanent residency over temporary I am told has many advantages I assume I should