189 Australian Study Query

Hello All,

Apologies if this has been answered somewhere. I have tried looking and struggled to find the right answer. 

So I am currently researching into the 189 Visa requirements and have come stuck on the overall education and Australian study requirement section. 

I aim to top up my FdSc to a full BSc this year in the UK. However, I am confused as to whether my BSc has to be closely related to my occupation (which I have been in for over 8 years and intend to use as my skilled Visa application). Yes it's on the skilled list. - Horse trainer. I'm considering topping up onto either an Animal Science, Wildlife Conservation or Equine science degree. Would this affect my application depending on the degree type considering my occupation is Equine based? Is it best I follow the equine top up route? 

Secondly, I have not studied in Australia nor had intended to until I had moved out there. As part of the Visa application it asks whether you've done so, is this vital to your application? Must you do it or have people been accepted without having done this?

Sorry if any of this is confusing but also thank you very much for any advice you have. 

Hana 

Edited by hanaknight12
Spelling mistakes

3 hours ago, hanaknight12 said:

I aim to top up my FdSc to a full BSc this year in the UK. 

Secondly, I have not studied in Australia nor had intended to until I had moved out there. As part of the Visa application it asks whether you've done so, is this vital to your application? Must you do it or have people been accepted without having done this?

I'm not quite clear, why are you topping up?

The way the 189 works is that you must have the qualifications and experience specified.   The experience must have been undertaken AFTER you got the qualification.  There's no benefit in having extra qualifications over and above those specified.  Applications are decided based on the points system, not on level of qualifications.