Pensions And Jobs In Perth

Guest The Ropey HOFF

Guest The Ropey HOFF

Hi, we have been looking at emigrating to WA for over 2yrs, but we both have good jobs and we are just expected to give them up and go without a concrete offer of work in OZ. I am a nurse and i know i can get work, but my husband is a 48 yr old prison officer with 20 years experience and trying to secure a job of any worth appears impossible. Has anyone got any advice. Also we have been told we will lose 40% of our hard earned pensions, which will be taken by the OZ government, as this happened to anyone else. We visited Perth for a month in january 2006, it is fantastic, but the flies were a pain in the neck, are they there all year round? cheers helen.

Guest The Ropey HOFF

Hi John, it appears the info i got was duff info. Simply we will only be taxed at a similar rate as the UK and only when we retire. To pay 40% we will have to earn as much as David Beckham, so we should be alright, cheers for your reply.

Guest joksand

Hi Helen

Can't help much with the Prison Officer job thing, except to say that I know I've seen ads in The West Australian recently for that type of work - not sure at what level though. Have you looked at thewest.com.au in the employment section?

Flies... you get used to them. There are very few around at the moment with it being winter, in summer of course there are more, but all houses have fly-screens and I find a hat and sunnies keeps them out of the places you don't want them to go. Believe me - I hate flies, but it really hasn't bothered me too much so far. The mozzies, however, are a pain in the neck!

All the best with your plans,

Jo

Guest Pinhead

I think the 40% you are refering to may relate to the gains on your personal pension pot if you don't transfer to Oz within 6 months of arriving. If you have an occupational, final salary scheme it doesn't apply.

Guest The Ropey HOFF

Hi Jo,