I'm moving to Melbourne in 3 wks and I'm looking for advise on which qualifications/cards/licenses would be the best to get. I have no experience in mine work as I've been a property renovator for the last 15 years. I really fancy a career change, can anyone help, big thanks

Can't help re qualifications but mining industry is in a big decline just now. Many people being made redundant from mines therefore lots of experienced mining people looking for jobs. Possibly not the best career change choice at the moment.

Melbourne is a long way from the mines....A bit like living in London and working in Greece. If you have no skills relating to mining, I think you have missed the boat there. Victoria's unemployment is pretty high at the moment. It may be a case of grabbing whatever work you can and then thinking about changing direction.

Given that you are arriving here for the start of winter , just remember that the weather does improve....!

As a mining professional I can only agree with what other posters have said.

Also be wary of companies advertising tickets for mining as mining companies don't recognize many of them and the ones that are recognized you would be chasing jobs against people with them and with experience.

When you say mining job what are you after. I'll tell you now the chances of driving a Big Yellow Truck are remote as there's loads of people in the queue for that, many with multi-skills, however, if you're inclined to do a mining engineering degree you'll have pretty good prospects.

There are gold fields around Balleratt and brown coal mines down Gippsland way but the industry is tiny in Victoria compared to QLD or WA.