Newcastle instead of Melbourne ???

CNC FABS

Ok so we are just about to get our visa's (app Aug). Have all been set to go to Melbourne 2014/15. Me,wife, 2 kids ,6 & 7 now. I work in the manufacturing sector (metal worker / mechanical design / ventilation). Choose Melbourne as it: not to hot, a good manufacturing industry, plenty of jobs, a cbd I actually liked to visit, choice of schools and opertunities for kids as they grow.

Always liked the Mornington area, sorted.

But

There's that thing in the back of my mind saying: it is right ??? Moving half way round the world, you want to make sure your going to the best place for you.

The only thing that worries me about Melbourne is the urban sprawl, especially where some areas just all seem the same. Yes I know if you want security of job oppertunities, you have to have big city sprawl. It there a better option ?

I have always liked the look of the Newcastle area, Warners bay etc. but dismissed the idea due to lack of jobs, small town lack of oppertunities. Have I got this wrong ???

Can anyone offer an insight into life on the ground in the area. An opinion on jobs other than just what I can see from looking on seek or how they feel the area is going to grow in the future ??

To help decide if it's worth coming up for a look at Easter when we expect to validate our 189 visa's.

Thank :biggrin: