Private Health Insurance

paul2542

Has anyone got any recommendations for health funds? I have looked at quite a few but seeing I am new to this I am unsure what to look for. I have just had a course of treatment at the dentist and bill was a hell of a shock. We had always planned on getting private health care cover but now I want to do it as soon as possible so I don't get stuck with another bill like that.

• 2 months later...

What is the general consensus re: private health these days? When we lived in Australia (2003-08) the threshold for medicare levy was $50k and HC premiums were cheaper, so it was well worth us having private health insurance, with the rebate and the surcharge. We have suspended our BUPA cover while back in the UK and was planning on restarting it upon our return in Jan next year, however, I see now the surcharge is $168k for families (plus an extra $1500 per child) which will increase next year to $176k. As my husband & I will be earning less than this we will not get charged the medicare levy - so I am not sure healthcare is worth it, as the basic family (with the 30% rebate) is over $2,000.

Would really appreciate others thoughts on whether you think private health is worth it?

Thanks, Kat

What is the general consensus re: private health these days? When we lived in Australia (2003-08) the threshold for medicare levy was $50k and HC premiums were cheaper, so it was well worth us having private health insurance, with the rebate and the surcharge. We have suspended our BUPA cover while back in the UK and was planning on restarting it upon our return in Jan next year, however, I see now the surcharge is $168k for families (plus an extra $1500 per child) which will increase next year to $176k. As my husband & I will be earning less than this we will not get charged the medicare levy - so I am not sure healthcare is worth it, as the basic family (with the 30% rebate) is over $2,000.