Damned IELTS!

Bouncy

Hi guys, I'm posting regarding the IELTS yet again! I've just had my results in and I did great in the speaking-9 reading-8 listening-8.5, but the writing got me! 6.5. It was the academic test as I'm a nurse I need 7's in all areas, so now i need to re-sit to get a better score in the writing and just hope I can maintain the others to a 7 or above!

So my question is..... Does anyone have any tips on how to improve my score on the writing element of the academic test? I practiced all other elements of the test and but without knowing the question it's difficult to practice. I did some practice tests so I had an idea of time frames for writing the amount of words necessary and had no problem filling the word count. I think I fell down on interpreting results of the graphs to be honest so any tips on that would be greatly received. I had to write 250 words on the pro's and con's of robots in the workplace!!! I structured in with an intro, main body then brief conclusion, did paragraphs, not sure what else I could have done for that so I'm assuming it's the graph question that let me down.

I've got 4 weeks to improve til my next test. Im a native English speaker, born, bred and taught here, educated to degree level! Surely I can do this!!! Arghhhh!!! So frustrating!

Any help massively appreciated!

Bouncy x

• Replies 91
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi there!

I have my test tomorrow!Eeek! I am worried about the writing too so I got some essay correction done by an English teacher in Manchester, I paid £40 for 2 sets of both tasks to be marked and feedback, his need back has been great, along with the Ielts Simon blog and this I found on twitter have been great http://www.ieltsonlinepractice.com/courses/

good luck!

Hi Niinstalls!