Job Offer

Jameister

OK, so I have been offered a job via Fujitsu Australia (Wed 26th June) and that they would provide sponsorship and cover medicals costs etc. And the expected start date is around the end of August beginning of September.

I was informed that the next step is to start the 457 visa process. I hadn't heard any update, so I emailed and was told that they are still waiting for approval fro the 457 visa at this stage.

Does anyone know what this means? I'm confused, I thought that I would be filling in application forms and submitting documents already by now.... :SLEEP:

I'm no expert, but I would imagine they are wanting you/hanging on to you, but have told you, you have the job but they have not got the 'all clear' to go ahead...so stringing you along to some degree I suppose. I want you to know I have no exp of your visa, so I may be miles off. What I do know from experience, is that Aussies promise the world but don't always tell you the whole truth. I'm sure it will be fine, but don't think they have explained their position very well to you, eg..the job is not yours until we have approval!?

Things have/are changing with regard to these visas due to public being unhappy and with an election coming up guess there will be not much movement afoot. Also as quick as they give a job with this visa is as quick as it gets taken away from some folks if there is any sort of downturn for a company.

It was only 6 days ago so that seems to be no time in the whole recruitment process so I wouldn't be panicking yet.

It does seem a bit strange that they hadn't sorted out their side of the 457 nomination first though.

What we did is say that we wouldn't hand in our notices until we had the 457 visa approved (our side too) so it might be an idea to do the same if you are currently working.

It was only 6 days ago so that seems to be no time in the whole recruitment process so I wouldn't be panicking yet.