Visa after PhD

nicolabio

Hi Everyone,

I browsed through the previous topics, but I couldn't find a similar thread. I am a PhD student and am expecting to finish my studies by the end of 2013. My visa (postgraduate research) is valid until 01/12/2014. My goal is to apply for a State Nominated Visa as a Victorian PhD graduate under occupation 234599 (Life Scientist).

1) Am I able to stay on my visa until it’s validity date, even after I graduate? If yes, can I undertake employment as well? I think the answer to this is yes, but I can't find it in writing anywhere. All answers I am able to find are about situations where your visa expires before you finish study, not the other way around.

2) If VETASSESS is evaluating my PhD, can I apply for assessment before I obtain the degree, or do I need to wait until I’ve finished it?

3) If the answer to the above is that I have to finish my PhD first and then evaluate it, what kind of bridge visa do I need to be on during VETASSESS’ evaluation time? I still would not have applied for PR, so I cannot be on a bridging visa.

4) My Bachelors degree is in the same field as my PhD and applicable for the same ANZCO code. If I evaluate it through VETASSESS (because I can do so without waiting to finish the PhD), do I still need to evaluate the PhD as well?

Thanks!

Nicola

Thanks, Tickled Pink. That was the answer to 2). Would you know if the PhD should be assessed at all, since I will be obtaining it in Au? On the VETASSESS fees section (http://www.vetassess.com.au/migrate_to_australia/qa2_fees_payment.cfm#FullSkillsFee2), I see a separate category for "Overseas postgraduate doctorate degree", but nothing about my case.

You can stay until your visa expires. And yes you can work.

Have a look to see if you qualify for the 485 visa. That was designed to buy ex students time to get everything together for your next visa.