457 Visa Nomination

briman

Hello Guys and Girls,

I have recently been nominated for a 457 Visa in Melbourne on the 5th April and still waiting for that to be approved.

Just wondering if anyone knows if you need a degree, because I don't have one but I have over 5 years experience in my field of work.

I have references from all my previous jobs apart from 1 as they went into liquidation.

Any help on this would be appreciated.

IT Support Officer I think is probably the role they have put me forward for do you know about this particular role?

For most IT occupations, employment experience can substitute for formal qualifications. The experience has to be relevant. The number of years required will depend on the specific occupation nominated.

I'm guessing that you have some other sort of qualification?? I am not in IT but I came over on the 457 initially. I don't have a degree per se but I do have other uni level quals and experience. I guess in the end it is whether your employer demands it, if not then it shouldn't be a problem as they are the ones nominating you. Good luck!

I'm guessing that you have some other sort of qualification?? I am not in IT but I came over on the 457 initially. I don't have a degree per se but I do have other uni level quals and experience. I guess in the end it is whether your employer demands it, if not then it shouldn't be a problem as they are the ones nominating you. Good luck!

Unfortunately there are a lot of dishonest people out there who try to sponsor family or friends for 457 visas who have no actual skills for the job, which means that immigration will look at all aspects to make sure it is a skilled position.