Buying a house in England, living in Aus?

littlekitty

Hey guys,

My fiance © and I are waiting on a PMV at the moment and are keen to do some property investing in Aus once we're on our feet with the visa etc. When I was visiting him in England I couldnt believe the house prices (obviously the market is not the best over there, and people are not in a position to buy) but with the money we earn in Aus, I thought 'why couldnt we buy something in England'? C owned his first home from about 21 years old, and I was shocked when he drove me past a little terraced house and said "that was the house I sold to come to Australia"... In my opinion, it would have great for him to hold onto it (he regrets selling it) so that we could use it when visiting his family.

Even though I am a total novice in prpoerty investment, I cant see the harm in buying a cheap (well, by Aus standards!) house in his home village in South Yorkshire, renting it out, and use it when the tenants lease is up to go visit his family from time to time. I know my family would jump at the chance of using the house say, one week a year. Also, C has had two deaths in the family this week, and although he can go stay with family when he travels to England, he said it would be nice if he could stay at his old house as a base.

Anyone done anything similar? I cant see much risk in buying property that would amount to about $60,000AUD and have it sit there to use on occasion? Or am I totally missing something here? Would it be very difficult to do this process from Aus?